Apply Give Quick Links

: Office of the President : Mission, Vision, Values

Mission, Vision, & Values

In early 2014, Dr. Christopher Blake, president of Middle Georgia State, selected representatives from the college and the community to serve on a vision taskforce. He and Dr. Nancy Bunker, associate professor of English (now retired), served as co-chairs of this taskforce.

The purpose of the group was to articulate a new vision for the college as it aspired to become a university. The taskforce met numerous times and produced its final report in June 2014. The report then was reviewed by the executive leadership team, and from that review, President Blake announced the following core values of Middle Georgia State represents and what it aspires to be:

Our Four Core Values

  • Stewardship
  • Engagement
  • Adaptability
  • Learning

In addition, the president announced a statement of vision – a sense of direction – aimed at inspiring the Middle Georgia State community to think of larger possibilities for our work and our institution:

Statement of Our Vision

We transform individuals and their communities through extraordinary higher learning.

Our University Mission

Approved by the Board of Regents in March 2015 the mission of the institution is as follows:

Middle Georgia State University educates and graduates inspired, lifelong learners whose scholarship and careers enhance the region through professional leadership, innovative partnerships and community engagement.

Our values, vision, and mission are guiding a strategic planning process that will provide a road map for our future.

Members of the President's Vision Taskforce and their positions were:

SAL First Last Campus Position Directory
Dr. Christopher Blake All President Link
Dr. Nancy Bunker Macon Associate Professor of English Link
Mr. Adon Clark Eastman AMT/Avionics Department Chair Link
Mr.  Alan Curtis Foundation N/A
Dr.  Constance  Fears Cochran Assistant Professor of Biology Link
Dr.  Donna Ingram Macon Assistant Professor of Nursing Link
Ms. Erica Kaiser Eastman Professional Advisor for School of Aviation Link
Ms. Jan Mimbs Dublin Administrative Assistant Link
Mr.  Charles  Mullis Cochran Athletic Director Link
Ms.  Yolonda Petty Macon Director of TRIO Student Support Services Link
Mr.  Kevin Reid Macon Director of Auxiliary Services Link
Mr.  Charles  Richardson Editorial Page Editor N/A
Dr.  Neil Rigole Macon Director, Center for Teaching Innovation Link
Dr.  Carol Sargent Macon Associate Professor of Accounting Link
Mr.  Ken Sessions Warner Robins IT Support Coordinator  Link
Mr.  Wesley Sewell Macon SGA President N/A
Dr.  Terry  Smith Macon Associate Professor of Information Technology Link
Dr.  Randy  Spaid Macon Associate Professor of Education Link
Dr.  Laura Thomason Macon Associate Professor of English Link
Ms. Leigh-Ann Tribble All Director of Recruiting and Orientation Link
Mr.  Bill  Weaver All Director of Advertising, Marketing and Communications Link
Ms.  Carey Wimberly Macon Executive Assistant to the President Link
Dr.  Matthew  Zimmerman Macon Assistant Professor of History Link

  LAST MODIFIED: 6/30/2015