MGA Recognizes Students For Academic Achievements

Author: News Bureau
Posted: Tuesday, April 13, 2021 12:00 AM
Categories: School of Computing | School of Business | Honors/Awards | School of Aviation | Pressroom | Students | School of Education and Behavioral Sciences | School of Arts and Letters | School of Health and Natural Sciences

Macon, GA

Clockwise are Amanda Juarez, Tesia Baker, Daisja Butts, and Matthew Molina.

Middle Georgia State University (MGA) graduating seniors Daisja Butts of Rex, Ga., Amanda Juarez of Macon, and Matthew Molina of Warner Robins have been chosen as President’s Scholars for the Class of 2021. They were among the nearly 40 students recognized at the 2021 Honors Convocation for their academic achievements.

Each year, at least one graduating senior is chosen by the Honors, Awards and Graduation Committee, with the approval of the University president, to be the President's Scholar. The chosen student or students must have outstanding academic records, involvement in campus and/or community service activities, and demonstrate characteristics indicating the promise of a successful future.

Butts is graduating with a Bachelor of Arts in Interdisciplinary Studies with a concentration in information technology. A member of the MGA Knights basketball team, she is the recipient of an NAIA Champions of Character award. Her career goal is to work in the animation industry.

Molina is graduating with Bachelor of Science in Information Technology with a concentration in software engineering. He scored in the nation’s top 20 percent in a National Cyber League competition and was a bioinformatics intern for the Department of IT’s metabolomics research.

Juarez is graduating with a Bachelor of Science in Psychology. Juarez has conducted independent research with MGA professors, served as a teaching assistant, and is a recipient of the student research award presented by the Society for Text and Discourse.

Tesia Baker of Douglasville, Ga., was chosen MGA’s 2021 Academic Recognition Day Scholar. The Academic Recognition Day Scholar – a University System of Georgia award - is chosen each year from an elite group of students who demonstrate high academic achievement and a strong commitment to service to their college and community. Baker is graduating with a Bachelor of Science in Health Services Administration.

Other MGA students who received academic awards are: 

Kaytilen Rowland, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Nursing, A.S.N    

Reagan Stanley, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Nursing, PL - B.S.N.

Atlanta Ridgdill, Academic Excellence in Nursing, RN-BSN              

Holly Goodman, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Nursing, M.S.N.     

Chad Desbiens, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Rehabilitation Science, B.S. 

Ebone Simpson, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Occupational Therapy Assistant, A.S.            

Danielle Marrone, Academic Excellence in Respiratory Therapy, B.S.        

Ryan Gall, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Biology, B.S.         

Mackenzie Kirk, Academic Excellence in Criminal Justice, B.S.      

Amanda Jill Juarez, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Psychology, B.S.

Camryn B. Studstill, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Elementary Special Education, B.S.          

Mary Rachel White, Academic Excellence in Secondary Education - Mathematics, B.S.      

Chong A. Cairney, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Secondary Education - Music, M.A              

Tyler Sapp, Carol Bloodworth Award - Cochran   

Kiera Casion, Carol Bloodworth Award - Macon  

Anjunita A. Davis, Academic Excellence in English, B.A.   

Elizabeth A. Riley, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Technical and Professional Writing, M.A. 

Garrentt Duffey, Outstanding Academic Excellence in History, B.A.           

Tyler K Rogers, Academic Excellence in Contemporary Musicianship         

Daisja Butts, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Interdisciplinary Studies, B.A.  

Meredith Lewis, Academic Excellence in New Media and Communications, B.A.  

Tia Gonzalez, Academic Excellence in Modern Language, A.A.     

Alex Chmelo, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Math, B.A.      

Matthew A. Molina, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Software Engineering, B.S.        

Justin Dale Dowd, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity, B.S.            

Megan Jean Shuttlesworth, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity & Digital Forensics, M.S.I.T             

Daniel Lewis Barge, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Information Technology, B.S.    

Reiza Jessica Vale Sibal, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Web Application Development, B.S.

Karena Nyugen, Academic Excellence in Marketing, B.S.

Anna Hieronymus, Academic Excellence in Management, B.S.     

Rachael Leverette, Academic Excellence in Accounting and Finance, B.S.

Mallory H. Stafford, Academic Excellence in Health Science Administration, B.S.  

Tucker Jameson Langford, Outstanding Academic Excellence in Aviation Maintenance and Structural Technology, Certificate