MGA Resumes In-Person Ceremonies At Spring 2021 Graduation

Author: News Bureau
Posted: Wednesday, May 5, 2021 12:00 AM
Categories: Faculty/Staff | School of Computing | School of Aviation | Pressroom | School of Health and Natural Sciences | School of Business | Events- Students | Honors/Awards | School of Education and Behavioral Sciences | School of Arts and Letters | Students

Macon, GA


Nearly 700 students are candidates for graduation at Middle Georgia State University’s spring commencement ceremonies, scheduled for May 11, 12, and 13.

These ceremonies will mark the return of in-person graduations held at the Recreation & Wellness Center on the Macon Campus. Spring and fall graduation ceremonies of 2020 were held virtually due to the COVID pandemic.

“We are elated to be able to resume in-person ceremonies, although we will continue to follow health and safety guidelines to ensure the safest environment possible,” said Dr. Christopher Blake, Middle Georgia State (MGA) president. “Our University community has adapted to many changes in the past year and we look forward to celebrating our graduates in a way that is somewhat more familiar and comfortable.”

Of the 686 candidates for graduation, 476 are receiving bachelor’s degrees while 70 are collecting their master’s degrees. The rest are receiving associate’s degrees or certificates.

The commencement speaker will be Georgia Rep. Patty James-Bentley, who serves House District 139. Her district covers Taylor, Macon, and Dooley counties, and a portion of Peach County. She is the first woman elected to represent the district. A Georgia Tech graduate, James-Bentley is a member of the 2006 class of Leadership Taylor and the 2007 class of Leadership Georgia. She chaired the Economic Development/Transportation Committee for the Association of County Commissioner of Georgia, and she is a co-founder of the Taylor County Chamber of Commerce. She is also a member of the Georgia Legislative Black Caucus, and she is past-president of the Georgia Association of County Commissioners Black Caucus.

James-Bentley has volunteered with the American Red Cross in Taylor County for 20 years. She and her family are members of Macon’s New Pilgrim Missionary Baptist Church, where she serves as chair of the Women’s Ministry.

In order to make the event site as safe as possible, the Recreation & Wellness Center will be sanitized between each ceremony. Masks, which will be provided for those who need one, will be required of all participants and guests. Hand sanitizer stations will be available at all entry and exit points and graduate lineup.

Each graduate may each bring up to two guests, including children. Graduates will sit with their guests in “pod” style instead of sitting with their classmates.  MGA is also reducing the size of the platform party. The deans of each school will forgo shaking hands but will verbally congratulate the graduates as each crosses the stage.

All graduation ceremonies will be livestreamed at and will be available for watching after the ceremonies have concluded.

Here is the graduation ceremony schedule:

Tuesday, May 11

10:00 am
School of Health & Natural Sciences

  • Department of Nursing

3:00 pm
School of Health & Natural Sciences

  • Department of Respiratory Therapy
  • Department of Rehabilitation Science
  • Department of Natural Sciences

School of Business

  • Department of Accounting & Finance
  • Department of Health Service Administration
  • Department of Management & Marketing


Wednesday, May 12

10:00 am
School of Education & Behavioral Sciences

  • Department of Education & Social Work

3:00 pm
School of Education & Behavioral Sciences

  • Department of Psychology & Criminal Justice
  • Department of Political Science

School of Arts & Letters

  • Department of English
  • Department of History
  • Department of Media, Culture, & the Arts

The Georgia Academy of Arts, Mathematics, Engineering, & Sciences


Thursday, May 13

10:00 am
School of Aviation

  • Department of Aviation Maintenance & Structural Technology
  • Department of Aviation Science & Management

School of Computing

  • Department of Information Technology
  • Department of Mathematics & Statistics